Sigma 50-150 f2.8 Test

I finally pulled the trigger: I bought a new lens! It was a battle between the Nikon 105 f2.8 Macro VR AF-S and the Sigma 50-150 f2.8 HSM, and the Sigma won. I have no doubt that the Nikon is a better lens IQ(Image Quality)-wise, and it has VR + macro capabilities. But I don’t think I’m going to become a hard-core macro-shooter anytime soon, so I think the Sigma will give me more versatility. Although the Sigma gets good reviews (very sharp at f2.8 from 50 to 100mm, light and small for it’s class) it has its limitations too: at 150mm f2.8 the lens is soft when the focus distance is less than 3m. And there is some vignetting at 150mm f2.8 (exagerated in the pic above bue to post processing). But I was wel aware of those “issues” (thank you internet!), and I think I can live with them.

So far I’m really enjoying this lens! It’s heavier than I expected, it’s bigger than I expected, but I can handle it. Of course I’m still in the learning phase for this lens (150mm f2.8 gives you razor thin DOF) and I’m not going to post any boring test shots (e.g. brik wall), but I think the photo above is worth it to be posted on this blog. 🙂

